In 1970 the Senate of Perkins School of Theology joined other members of the Association of Theological Schools in voting to re-designate the Bachelor of Divinity degree as that of Master of Theology. On November 6, 1970, the Board of Trustees of Southern Methodist University authorized Perkins to change the name of its basic theological degree from Bachelor of Divinity to that of Master of Theology. Since the former B.D. degree represented three years of academic work beyond the baccalaureate degree, a more appropriate designation would be that of M.Th.

On May 8, 1981, the Board of Trustees of S